Freeby on Licorice

Those of you who really know me know that my favorite candy is licorice.  My favorite is  Twizzlers chocolate flavored but I’ll take any flavor really except for black licorice.  Black licorice is my mom’s favorite so I’ll usually pass that flavor on to her.

Licorice is hard to come by in China but you can usually find a small bag in the imported section for about $3.50 (not chocolate flavored though). Not to worry though we stocked up on this in the States this Christmas so if it’s a very special occasion we will raid the licorice stash.

You can imagine my surprise when I spotted this package of licorice in the imported section of Carrefore that read “buy 1 get 1 free” but what was even more surprising is the package right next to it that read “buy 1 get 2 free”.

Now here I am holding the package so my friend can take a picture for me when this employee says in perfect English “I’m sorry but taking pictures is forbidden in the store” and we told him we just thought the freebie on the licorice was funny and he responds “well I had only 5 bags left to shelf.  What was I to do?”

Now we are left to fight over who gets the extra free bag and I don’t even like black licorice.  I’ll tell you one thing I’ve learned living in China though….black licorice actually does taste good when it’s that or what I know Greg’s options are at work today…

Leave a Reply

